Tags

, , ,

So! Last Friday I loaded my little family up into the “road trip minivan” and headed north to Portland. Why? Would I willingly and eagerly travel three hours with two toddler/preschoolers in a small hot box.. on purpose?

The answer… Jaymee & Hubs.
Photobucket

After dropping our irritated and overly excited children off with my mother ( thanks Mom,) DH and I sprinted over (getting lost a few times)  to the hotel where we found, on the curb, the two bubbliest people on planet earth. We shoved them into the back seat and drove them to dinner…. thankfully the people we kidnapped were the right ones and Jaymee, her DH, my DH and I had a FAB meal together. It was like sitting down with old/new friends. So casual and comfortable, right from the start. Perfect.

Photobucket
I ate Alaskan crab legs. Apparently that is a requirement for proper Jaymee-Baby gestation; the consumption of shellfish. Oky Doky, will do… I’ve never had real crab but I am a fan of Deadliest Catch, and this particular tasty treat had arrived fresh from the “Catch” crew themselves, so eating it was almost mandatory when dining if I want to maintain my place in the fan club.

After eating entirely too much and taking way too long to do it ( we were gone over three hours!) we called it a night and headed home for a wee bit of shuteye for the long day ahead of us. Bright and early the next morning we again met up with my fancy new Intended Parents ( and again, got lost) & trekked our mini-van arses on over to the Portland Zoo so that they could get to know my kookie family. Jaymee spent the better part of the day proving over and over what an incredible mother she’s going to be. 
 Photobucket

My kids hopped in and out of that little stroller buggy a thousand times, walking till tired and riding till too cooped up. She was either pushing them around in that tonnage, or holding a little hand to go explore. My kids LOVED her and her husband is just one of the group, the kids thought he was FUN FUN ( with the fanciest “pretty arms” they had ever seen) & he proved to be the biggest teddy bear we came across that whole day. Soon enough it was time to call it quits and hugs were passed around. I think we all learned what we wanted to learn on this little weekend trip. Jaymee left that day with signed complete contracts in her purse. I left that day with a huge smile in my heart, bubbling with happiness at how awesome this little family already is and how great it’s going to be when they finally have their wee little one to complete it.

Photobucket

I can’t wait.
Photobucket

