Today was the dreaded 10 week ultrasound. I planned the appointment early ( 7am) to make sure that if I DID need a husband at home the rest of the day, he had time to arrange that.  Early so that if P-Daddy did need to call in some support, it wasn’t in the middle of the night.

Thank god neither of us needed it.

The babies are looking absolutely beautiful! Baby A ( right) had a 142 heartrate, while B was the fast one this time at 181. A likes to wiggle her legs and feet, while B likes to sit frog-legged and mess with his face. So awesome to see these little ones; alive, healthy, and wiggling around like mad. It was good to see. Reassuring. Both are measuring smallish at 9 weeks 2 days, but that’s fine and within a normal range so no worries there.

I definitely am pregnant. My uterus is having to grow faster then it was designed to because of the two-vs-one stuff, so while I’m not “showing” this early in the game ( of course) I’m definitely very achy and heavy feeling. Having a full bladder actually hurts. Don’t get me wrong, I already have some pants I need to rubberband, but it’s more because I’ve not been allowed to go to the gym and my innards are squashed up by the ol’ ute. Not so much a baby bump. Nausea; getting better. I’m at this horrible place where I am SUPER nauseous if I have a full tummy.. and SUPER nauseous if I have an empty one. So I find myself eating ALL DAY to keep the nausea at bay; a bite here and a bite there. While that’s good in some areas ( I’m supposed to eat close to 160 grams of protein a day!) it’s not so good in others. Namely the fluffy pants area. And flabby arms, and double chin….

Today I was released from my RE and given into the care of my OB, officially. Thank GAWD. My OB has given me thumbs up to continue a modified workout program. How ironic; as soon as I get into a good routine and actually start to enjoy working out, I’m forbidden to do so. It’s been a long 10 weeks. I’m hoping to quickly get back into the swing of things and keep my body healthy and strong for this pregnancy. I need to eat a lot to grow these healthy babies, but I want to keep my body healthy as well and not gain a ton of unnecessary weight. It’s hard to do because I’m tired pretty much all the time. Workout time was when husband came home from work at 11pm. I’d toodle off to the gym and get a good hour at least in 3 to 4 times a week. Now by 9pm I’m half passed out in bed with a book or movie ( but not a good movie; a comfortable and well worn movie I can fall asleep watching) and by 11 I’m usually somewhat comatose. I’m going to have to figure something out, as 11pm is still the best time for me to get to the gym.. so how to be awake then is what I’m going to have to figure out.

I’ve decided the doom-and-gloom phase of this pregnancy just has to be over. It’s too depressing, so these babies are here to stay. No negative “what if” thoughts.  No worrisome evenings. Because of that, I can’t just referr to them as “a” and “b”. It’s too.. impersonal. I need some fun nick-names. Ideas? Shoot them over! Here are a few I’ve come up with:

Abercrombie & Fitch
Hollywood & Vine
Kit & Kaboodle
Mai & Tai
Peanut & Jelly
Sleepy & Bashful

The hard part is they both need to be gender neutral. We won’t know who we’ve got here for another several weeks and I’d hate to be calling a little boy “buttercup” that whole time. So any ideas? Share!!

Next week we have another OB appointment and the BUN test.. Whooo doggy!

 

