Tags

,

OK, I’m not going to lie, here: these PIO injections are really starting to HURT! Had I only listened to the voices of the “pros” ( and L, don’t you DARE “nanny nanny” me. I’ll hop over to Kansas and kick your pregnant ASS ( softly, of course) should you even try..) I  would have saved any of my earlier bitching about these injections for right about now. I can’t sleep on my right side. Folks, that is my default sleeping side! I’m all confused in bed now! I have a baseball sized lump on my right hip that frankly feels like.. crap, not sure how to describe it. OK. It feels like a crumpled up piece of tinfoil.. No, a ball of ice shards…. OK, it feels like I have, under my skin, a pokey ball. I think the PIO, in the formation of this beautiful rump bump, has somehow hardened strands of the muscle into tiny points of ouch that remind me, with much glee, of their presence when I put any pressure on it. Which means that sitting/laying/leaning kind of hurt. A deep bruise hurt combined with the bizarre pokey-ball.

BUT! BUT! Thursday, ladies and gentlemen. Thursday is my LAST day of PIO. As in never again. No more. My bumps are prematurely thankful.

In other pregnancy news, I am apparently one of those lucky pregnant woman that most other pregnant woman want to kill in a most un-ladylike fashion. No morning sickness for me. None. Not even a little bit, despite the loads and loads of estrogen and progesterone I’m forcibly injecting ( and ingesting) into my body every day. This is odd because I had “all day” sickness with both of my previous pregnancies. No huge vomit sessions, but nauseous pretty much 24 hours a day for, oh, 12 weeks or so. Which was not fun, let me tell you. Some information for you, copied and pasted for your convenience: 

One of the theories is that morning sickness is caused by the dominant hormone during pregnancy, progesterone. Progesterone has a “softening” effect on the muscles in the body. It is thought it helps prevent preterm labor by effecting the uterine muscles. It also effects other muscles, such as the stomach and intestines. The progesterone relaxes the workings of the whole digestive track which makes the elimination of bodily wastes slower which can lead to a slow emptying of the stomach which leads to excess stomach acids.  Another theory, and more widely accepted, is that morning sickness is caused by the buildup of hCG (human chorionic gonadotopin) in your system. hCG is produced after implantation takes place and continues to increase until about the 12th week of your pregnancy, at which point the levels of hCG starts to decrease. If you are lucky, this is when your morning sickness symptoms will start to decrease as well.

What I have been gifted with, however, is an incredibly sensitive sense of smell. This is all new to me so for the first week or so I just thought all the food in my house was rotting. I tossed 2 loaves of bread and cleaned out my fridge of all but the condiments before I realized that ALL food, even at friends homes, smelled rotten. The odds of that; slim.  So crap, it must be me.This new development has been a blessing and a curse. I love food. I love to eat. My reward for anything occurs in my mouth. Earned some extra money? Go out to dinner. Want a birthday treat? Open up and say AHHH to some take-out! I love me some eatables. ( I’m shocked I’m not any fluffier than I am). So now, while I still love food, it kind of makes me gag. I mean, I’ll eat it, but the whole time I am doing so I think it smells like feet. You can only ignore that for so long before you decide meh.. maybe not so much of the eating. This has been a blessing because normally, I’m a night snacker. Now, not so much. Unfortunately, it isn’t just food that is affected. My bathrooms are now spotless ( even as I choked on the chemical smells) and I literally have to hold my breath when changing my sons diapers as I almost gagged on him the other day. Which wouldn’t have been very nice.

So that’s the update. Thursday is the next *big* day. I have the 8 week ultrasound in the morning and my first regular OB appointment in the afternoon. Interested to see how that goes… I’m going to the same OB I went to with my son’s birth, so I’m curious how differently he’ll act now with this surrogate pregnancy and with my new demands/requirements. We’ll see…….

